For months my life has been pretty mundane, wake up, go to work, come home, eat dinner, sleep and repeat.

However, recently, I’ve been thrust into this season of change. I’m in the process of getting Invisalign treatment (an alternative to traditional braces where you’re given several plastic trays to straighten your teeth), I’m starting driving lessons, oh and I’m also starting law school in September. The latter being the most nerve-wracking.

As a creature of habit, adapting to change is tough, it feels like a shock to my system when my brain sends alarms reminding me that this isn’t part of my usual routine, or in my case with Invisalign, this foreign object my mouth isn’t food and has to stay put. Growing up, I hated change too, it made me more anxious and I never knew how to deal with the emotions, so it always felt like the feelings were just sitting in my belly growing stronger and stronger with every thought.

Until…I started reading my Bible. As part of my season of singleness, I have developed a relationship with God, and it has been probably the best thing I have ever done. One of my favourite scriptures at the moment, that has helped me navigate feelings of uncertainty and is:

“So do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own. Today’s troube is enough for today” – Matthew 6:34

And it’s true! Tomorrow will bring it’s own troubles, and it may not even come around (not to be too dark) so why waste all that energy worrying about what may or may not happen, stressing yourself over something you have no control over, or over a new season of your life you’re yet to experience. By reminding myself of this scripture, I’m able to bring my mind to the present day, and then the present moment. Yes, this whole orthodontic procedure has come with painful moments but that’s okay, because I’m here now, I got through it and I’m going to get through it again. Law school will be challenging, but I’m not there yet, I’m here so I will enjoy my life now, just as much as I will then. Meditation also works too, but for me (and other believers), meditating on scripture is even more effective.

So I have to advise those of you that believe in the power of our Lord, turn to his word, you will find peace in it.

Is there scripture that has helped you through a challenging time? I’d love to know!

2 minutes

4 responses to “Adapting to Change”

  1. Girl in Her Twenties Avatar

    Change makes me anxious as well. In fact, a lot makes me anxious lol. However, you are right about tomorrow having its own worries. It feels easier to worry and stress about the unknown (maybe because of the infinite possibilities) but it is better to stay rooted in the present. There is more peace in the present.

    One of my favourite Bible verses that I keep in mind during challenging times would probably be Jeremiah 29 v 11: For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

    You are going to do well in law school this September and try not to swallow your Invisalign lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A.Jane Avatar

      Honestly, I used to be the same too! The slightest thing would make me overthink, I still have tendencies today.

      I love that verse too! It’s one my mum repeats all the time. And thank you!! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Girl in Her Twenties Avatar

        I guess once we accept that the uncontrollable will always be uncontrollable then overthinking lessens (still trying to let it sink in). There will always be moments of overthinking, but if the moments of acceptance/clarity outweigh it, then you’re doing a great job!

        It’s a really good one. Your mom has good taste. You’re welcome 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. A.Jane Avatar

        That’s so true!! Well said too!

        Like

Leave a comment